Parenting books that helped

It became clear in the first week after Rosie was born that I needed help. I hadn’t really thought much at all about parenting because I’d been so focused on preparing for the birth. Rosie cried a lot in the early days. She wouldn’t go to sleep before midnight or 1am for the first few months and she wanted to breastfeed all the time. She was nothing like what I thought she would be. So over the past 18 months I’ve done lots of reading and found some amazingly helpful books. They are listed below. I hope they help you.

1. Everyday Blessings by Jon and Myla Kabat-Zinn

2. The Fussy Baby Book by William and Martha Sears

3. Loving Mama: Essays on Natural Parenting and Motherhood by Tiffany Palisi

4. The Science of Parenting by Margot Sunderland

5. The Natural Child: Parenting from the Heart by Jan Hunt

6. Nighttime Parenting by William Sears

7. The Baby Led Weaning Book by Gill Rapley and Tracey Murkett

8. NurtureShock by Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman

That’s the list for now. I hope you find them as wonderful as I have. I’d love to hear about any parenting books you have found invaluable.

 

About Crack in the curtains

I am currently a stay at home mum to one beautiful 14 month old girl. I am also a performance Artist although it has been almost a year and a half since my last performance. This blog is simply to record moments and tell stories from my life. I recently travelled to Vietnam for 2.5 months with my family and I loved the process of crafting an email to send to my friends and family back home. Crack in the Curtains is the name of my blog because every afternoon while my daughter is sleeping I sit in bed with her and read. The curtains are pulled mostly closed so it is dim but light enough for me to read. I love this quiet time when I am able to follow my thoughts freely and dive into a book. Sleep has become something so valuable since the birth of my daughter. It has become the currency in my world. I am looking forward to having a full nights sleep again at some stage.
This entry was posted in Books, Family, Motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment